The Design Museum Brussels is a space dedicated to design from the 20th and 21st centuries.

The Design Museum Brussels, established after the acquisition of a private collection by the Atomium, is a place dedicated to design and its history. Since 2015, the museum's collection, The Plastic Design Collection, circumscribes the landscape of plastics in design from the 1950s to the present day. Alongside this collection, in September 2020 the museum opened Belgisch Design Belge, a new permanent exhibition space dedicated to Belgian design and its history.

Enriched by a programme of temporary exhibitions, the Design Museum Brussels also explores other fields of design creation and its impact on society and our daily lives.

Through exhibitions, guided tours, workshops, conferences and events, the museum aims to ensure that design is intelligible to one and all.

ARCHITECTURAL PROJECT

The architectural design was conceived and carried out by Lhoas & Lhoas Architectes. To achieve the successful completion of the Design Museum Brussels  project, Lhoas & Lhoas architectes have formed a partnership with museographer Thierry Belenger (specialist in 20th century design) and Alexandra Midal (design theoretician and historian).

The project is built with 10 principles in mind such as: making best use of the existing qualities, outside and inside; organising functions around existing structures; a simple, adaptable and reliable exhibition system; integrating stock into the exhibition; conceptual links between the objects; standard simple materials to let the colourful collection stand out.

The furniture inside the museum and lighting are provided by VITRA and DELTA LIGHT respectively.

Contact | Belgiëplein - 1020 Brussel | T +32 2 669 49 29 | Ontdek onze roosters

Crafted by Antartica ©2018

Le Design Museum Brussels est un lieu dédié au design du 20ème siècle et d’aujourd’hui.

Le Design Museum Brussels, initié suite à l’acquisition d’une collection privée par l’Atomium, est un lieu dédié au design et à son histoire. Depuis 2015, la collection du musée, The Plastic Design Collection, circonscrit le paysage des plastiques dans le design des années 1950 à nos jours. À côté de cette collection, en septembre 2020, le musée ouvrait Belgisch Design Belge, un nouvel espace d’exposition permanente consacré au design belge et à son histoire.

Enrichi par un programme d’expositions temporaires, le Design Museum Brussels explore également les autres champs de la création en design et ses impacts sur la société et notre vie quotidienne.

À travers ses expositions mais aussi ses visites guidées, ses workshops, ses conférences et ses événements, le musée ambitionne de rendre le design compréhensible et accessible à tou×te×s.

LE PROJET ARCHITECTURAL

Le projet architectural et scénographique a été conçu et réalisé par le bureau Lhoas & Lhoas Architectes qui s'est adjoint les compétences de Thierry Belenger (spécialiste du design du 20e siècle) et ainsi que de Alexandra Midal (historienne et théoricienne du design).
Le projet s'articule autour de 10 principes majeurs dont : tirer le meilleur parti des qualités du bâtit existant, tant à l'intérieur qu'à l'extérieur; un système d'exposition souple, adaptable; intégrer les réserves dans le parcours d'exposition; une muséographie qui met en avant les liens conceptuels, sociaux, voire philosophiques entre les objets; un emploi de matériaux standards et simples qui contrastent avec ceux de la collection.
Le mobilier intérieur et les éclairages sont respectivement fournis par VITRA et DELTA LIGHT.
Contact | Place de Belgique - 1020 Bruxelles | T +32 2 669 49 29 | Découvrez nos horaires

Crafted by Antartica ©2018

Centre de préférences de confidentialité

test